SUPERSERIES FINALS 2012 – 5 decline, China up to 10

The Badminton World Federation (BWF) today announced the final lists for the CR Land BWF World .  In addition to the expected decline of the mixed doubles invitation to retired shuttler Reiko Shiota, Japan declined three other invitations and China two.  The resulting replacements put China up to the maximum ten entries and substantially increase the likelihood of a first ever Chinese sweep of the titles.

Japanese withdrawals in men’s singles and doubles have resulted in replacements from other teams, with Sho Sasaki’s spot instead going to Denmark’s Hans-Kristian Vittinghus while Hashimoto/Hirata’s absence puts Olympic champions Cai Yun / Fu Haifeng into a men’s doubles draw that includes no Indonesians and just one Korean pair after these teams underwent significant partner swaps following the Olympic Games.

In the women’s events, the withdrawal of Wang Yihan, Bao Yixin / Zhong Qianxin, and Miyuki Maeda / Satoko Suetsuna have merely paved the way for compatriots to qualify in their stead.  Hence, China will field Wang Shixian in women’s singles and Wang Xiaoli / Yu Yang in doubles and Japan will be sending Misaki Matsutomo / Ayaka Takahashi as their second doubles pair.

The final entries for the CR Land BWF World are as follows:

Men’s singles
1.  Lee Chong Wei (MAS)
2.  Chen Long (CHN)
3.  Kenichi Tago (JPN)
4.  Hu Yun (HKG)
5.  Liew Daren (MAS)
6.  Boonsak Ponsana (THA)
7.  Du Pengyu (CHN)
10.  Hans-Kristian Vittinghus (DEN)

Women’s singles
1.  Li Xuerui (CHN)
2.  Juliane Schenk (GER)
4.  Wang Shixian (CHN)
5.  Saina Nehwal (IND)
7.  Tine Baun (DEN)
8.  Sung Ji Hyun (KOR)
9.  Eriko Hirose (JPN)
10.  Ratchanok Intanon (THA)

Men’s doubles
1.  Koo Kien Keat / Tan Boon Heong (MAS)
2.  Hiroyuki Endo / Kenichi Hayakawa (JPN)
3.  Hong Wei / Shen Ye (CHN)
5.  Kim Ki Jung / Kim Sa Rang (KOR)
6.  Mathias Boe / Carsten Mogensen (DEN)
7.  Bodin Issara / Maneepong Jongjit (THA)
8.  Hoon Thien How / Tan Wee Kiong (MAS)
9.  Cai Yun / Fu Haifeng (CHN)

Women’s doubles
1.  Shizuka Matsuo / Mami Naito (JPN)
3.  Eom Hye Won / Jang Ye Na (KOR)
4.  Tian Qing / Zhao Yunlei (CHN)
6.  Wang Xiaoli / Yu Yang (CHN)
7.  Duang Anong Aroonkesorn / Kunchala Voravichitchaikul (THA)
8.  Kamilla Rytter Juhl / Christinna Pedersen (DEN)
9.  Misaki Matsutomo / Ayaka Takahashi (JPN)
10.  Poon Lok Yan / Tse Ying Suet (HKG)

Mixed doubles
1.  Xu Chen / Ma Jin (CHN)
2.  Chan Peng Soon / Goh Liu Ying (MAS)
3.  Tantowi Ahmad / Lilyana Natsir (INA)
4.  Zhang Nan / Zhao Yunlei (CHN)
5.  Sudket Prapakamol / Saralee Thoungthongkam (THA)
6.  Joachim Fischer-Nielsen / Christinna Pedersen (DEN)
7.  Yoo Yeon Seong / Jang Ye Na (KOR)
9.  Muhammad Rijal / Debby Susanto (INA)

Click here to download the complete qualification lists

No related posts.